Crockpot Chicken Enchilada Soup

Good Evening! Sorry I didn’t get to the post I promised last night, it’s been a pretty crazy week. Had a class this whole week with a ton of information. Brain. Overload. I managed to get all my homework done with very little sleep in between, so I’m definitely looking forward to this weekend for rest and relaxation. Except I will be helping some friends tear apart their house, so we’ll see how well I do while ingesting dust. Anyway, I wanted to post one of my tried-and-true recipes that I love. It’s super quick to put together and throw in a crockpot. Especially for chilly nights like these, it’s a nice thing to come home to.

Chicken Enchilada Soup

Ingredients:

  • Two boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • One can of organic black beans
  • One can organic corn
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 1 pepper, finely chopped (I prefer green)
  • 1 1/2 cups milk (I prefer whole)
  • 1 can enchilada sauce (mild or hot, depending on how hot you want it)
  • 1 can cream of chicken
  • dash of cayenne pepper (optional)

Combine beans, corn, onion, tomato, and pepper into crockpot. Place chicken breasts on top. In a medium bowl, mix together milk, enchilada sauce, and cream of chicken. Pour over chicken breasts. Top with dash of cayenne pepper if you want a kick. Cook on low heat for 7-8 hours, high heat for 3-4. Before serving, shred chicken breasts (they should be very easy to pull apart). Serve with your favorite toppings. I love this soup with pepper jack cheese and sour cream. You can also top with avocado, salsa, etc. Enjoy!

One thought on “Crockpot Chicken Enchilada Soup

Leave a Reply

